This July a new law went into effect that all new drivers needs to know about, the no texting while driving law. If you are driving on a learner's permit or have only had your driver license for less than 6 months it is now illegal for you to text while driving. While various cities throughout Arizona have ordinances banning texting while diving this is the first state law on the matter. If you are a new driver and you are caught texting while driving you can face penalties up to $100 and the loss of your license for 30 days. Legislatures believe that this is just the first step towards stricter laws on distracted driving in Arizona and stricter laws for everyone are just on the horizon.